"Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald" First Look

Cast, Costumes and Title Treatment Revealed
Thu November 16, 2017 at 8:51 AM PST
Fantastic Beasts 2: The Crimes of Grindelwald title treatment in gold with black background

The heroes. The villains. The magic. In one year, return to the Wizarding World with Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald.

Exciting news emerged from The Wizarding World this morning. The title for the next installment of the Fantastic Beasts series was revealed, along with the title art, character announcements and a cast photo! Coming to theaters one year from today on November 16, Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald will feature an ensemble cast led by Eddie Redmayne, Katherine Waterston, Dan Fogler, Alison Sudol, Ezra Miller, with Jude Law and Johnny Depp.

Cast of Fantastic Beasts two
Left to right: Jude Law as Albus Dumbledore, Ezra Miller as Credence, Claudia Kim as Maledictus, Zoë Kravitz as Leta Lestrange, Callum Turner as Theseus Scamander, Katherine Waterston as Tina Goldstein, Eddie Redmayne as Newt Scamander, Dan Fogler as Jacob Kowalski, Alison Sudol as Queenie Goldstein and Johnny Depp as Gellert Grindelwald

At the end of the first film, the powerful Dark wizard Gellert Grindelwald (Depp) was captured by MACUSA (Magical Congress of the United States of America), with the help of Newt Scamander (Redmayne). But, making good on his threat, Grindelwald escaped custody and has set about gathering followers, most unsuspecting of his true agenda: to raise pure-blood wizards up to rule over all non-magical beings.  

In an effort to thwart Grindelwald’s plans, Albus Dumbledore (Law) enlists his former student Newt Scamander, who agrees to help, unaware of the dangers that lie ahead. Lines are drawn as love and loyalty are tested, even among the truest friends and family, in an increasingly divided wizarding world.  

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald is being directed by David Yates, from a screenplay by J.K. Rowling, and produced by David Heyman, J.K. Rowling, Steve Kloves and Lionel Wigram.